top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureUCL Conservation Society

Meet the 2020/21 Committee!


We're really excited to start the new academic year although it's definitely going to be unlike any other. We've been carefully planning our first activities to ensure everyone's upmost safety. Although we might not get to meet in person for a little time yet, here's a virtual presentation of our committee this upcoming year.



President

Name: Chloe Bentze

Degree: 3rd year Bsc Biodiversity and Conservation

Why I joined the Nature and Conservation Society: I joined the Society hoping to find a group of people with the same fascination, passion for nature, and concern for its conservation. I also wanted to learn more about biodiversity conservation in the UK and get a chance to share experiences with others... and I did!

My favourite thing about the society: I joined the society at its beginning as a Union society two years ago and have enjoyed watching it grow and flourish over the years. I love how open-minded, curious, kind-hearted and passionate everyone is! I'd love to see more diversity, and reach out to more students about our activities to continue raise awareness on the environmental crisis this upcoming year.

Fun fact about me! I once spent 6 hours a day on a beach counting migrating birds for three months non-stop for a survey. Yes, I signed up for it - and no, I did not regret it!



Treasurer

Name: Lily Unger

Degree: PhD in Environmental Science (Previously MSc Aquatic Science)

Why I joined the Nature and Conservation Society: To feel like I am contributing to positive change. 

My favourite thing about the society: The freedom and flexibility for all members to contribute to activity and event ideas.

Fun fact about me! My favourite animal is a sloth!



Campaigns Officer

Name: Lucas von Chamier

Degree: PhD in Molecular Cell Biology - 4th year

Why I joined the Nature and Conservation Society: This society grew out of a handful of people (including myself) who wanted to create a place for students to learn about and enjoy nature, because believe it or not, there was nothing remotely like this at UCL before! I've been at UCL from the beginning of my Natural Sciences undergraduate until now (7 years), went to a ton of societies, sports clubs, degree program events etc... and in this whole time, I have never met more likeminded people and friends than at this society in just 2 years. So, joining again this year is a no-brainer for me, I can't wait to meet the next generation of UCL NatCon'ists.

My favourite thing about the society: Being able to talk with people about nature for hours without anyone getting bored.

Fun fact about me! I have been known to take my binoculars with me to festivals. Just in case...



Campaigns Officer

Name: Sally Tang

Degree: MSci Biological Sciences (Biodiversity and Conservation)

Why I joined the Nature and Conservation Society: I was looking for some like-minded people, and wanted to discover what I can do for conservation.

My favourite thing about the society: How inclusive it is, everyone felt very welcomed and can freely voice their opinions and thoughts. 

Fun fact about me! I love penguins. Actually, when I'm bored, I watch penguin live cams!!



Social Secretary

Name: Fefi Palavecino

Degree: BSc Biodiversity and Conservation

Why I joined the Nature and Conservation Society: I joined the society because I wanted to meet people interested in nature and get to know British wildlife.

My favourite thing about the society: My favorite part about the society are the people. I have learned so much through the people I've met, whether that is in society meetings or in the conferences we organize.

Fun fact about me! I lived in South America my whole life before moving to London for university.




Social Media Officer


Name: Yara Shennan Farpón

Degree: PhD Environmental Science

Why I joined the Nature and Conservation Society: I wanted to join a group of people at UCL who shared my passion for nature conservation. And the group was so friendly!

My favourite thing about the society: Meeting new people and learning to view nature differently. Now I notice trees, plants and birds wherever I go, before in London I just walked past them!

Fun fact about me! Forests are my favourite ecosystem. 



Volunteering officer


Name: Lara Britton

Degree: Bsc Biodiversity and Conservation

Why I joined the Nature and Conservation Society: I wanted get my daily dose of nature, and also become more actively involved in conservation in and around London.

My favourite thing about the society: The members, who all have an inspiring drive to protect nature 

Fun fact about me! I’m a twin




Volunteering Officer

Name: Miranda Jones

Degree: BSc Biological Sciences

Why I joined the Nature and Conservation Society: I was looking to learn more about UK wildlife and conservation in general because I am hoping to go into this sector of biology after my degree. Also, I wanted to meet more people who enjoy being in nature as much as I do!

My favourite thing about the society: Birdwalks around campus, it’s such a friendly vibe and I love learning how to identify more bird species. I think it’s also really great for our wellbeing to remember to take time out and appreciate the nature we have around us, even in central London, and birdwalks provide an excellent opportunity for this!

Fun fact about me! I love wild swimming!!


Welfare Officer

Name: Artur Trebski

Degree: Natural Sciences

Why I joined the Nature and Conservation Society: I joined the society as I’m interested in climate change, biodiversity and ecology and I wanted to meet more people interested in these topics! I also wanted to learn what I can do individually in order to support conservation!

My favourite thing about the society: I think my favourite thing is that the society is very close knit and open for new people. I joined the society in second term and was given a very friendly welcome!

Fun fact about me! Now I’m studying Genetics, Evolution, Environment and Geology, but before coming to UCL I was studying Chemistry, Cognitive Science, Biotechnology and Japanese at my local uni for a year, can’t decide on a single discipline!



And last but not least...

Our honorary member, bird walk leader extraordinaire!

Name: Tsvetoslav Georgiev

Degree: BSc Biodiversity and Conservation

Why I joined the Nature and Conservation Society: To look at wildlife in the field and to take part in conservation talks.

My favourite thing about the society: As we are nature people, we are so chill!

Fun fact about me! I am about to describe a new genus of fluke worms!



184 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page