top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureUCL Conservation Society

My birdwatching-in-isolation journal

by Lara Britton


We are all spending a lot of time cooped up inside, but we can still connect with nature.

I have been spending a lot of time birdwatching, in my garden but also from my bedroom window. It is really rewarding to spot a species in a place you have not seen one before, or to spot a species that you have never seen!


I have been keeping a birding journal for the last few days, and I thought that I would share some of my favourite findings, alongside photographs taken by Aeli Roberts (excluding the Blackcap image, which was taken by David Dohnal):

Goldcrest I spotted from my window, flitting in the branches


© Aeli Roberts

Male blackcap I nearly missed as he was almost concealed in some magnolias

© David Dohnal/ Shutterstock.com

Pair of dunnocks nesting in the neighbours’ ivy


© Aeli Roberts

Three long-tailed tits I spotted from my window

© Aeli Roberts


A wren poked out briefly from behind the shed, it may be nesting behind there somewhere

© Aeli Roberts


Goldfinches nesting in the tree next door. I have learnt to recognise their ‘liquid’ call. Two perched on some low branches and I could really observe their brilliant red and yellow plumage. A group of goldfinches is called a charm, which I think really suits them.


© Aeli Roberts

The same, most confident robin always perches above the swing chair I sit on, in the apple tree branches (I’ll leave out some walnuts for it)


© Aeli Roberts


A pretty and restless coal tit (recently I searched online for photos of different races of coal tits, you can see how much this species can differ across its range. For example, the coal tits in Britain have a cooler tone to its plumage compared to the Irish subspecies).

© Aeli Roberts


I have also recently revisited my childhood hobby of feather collecting and discovered an iridescent feral pigeon feather on my bedroom windowsill.



Birdwatching, journaling, listening to birdsong, or observing trees from your window, engage your senses and remind you to be still and stay in the present, which can help in unsettled times like these.

72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page